8 Comments

Anon, my love (Tomorrow Prompt)

Hazy horizon.

Battle cries.

I feel my brothers,

Tread solemn beside me.

I hear their pain,

And their cries of sorrow.

Tomorrow we promise

The war will be over.

Unto tomorrow,

Our cares we send.

A cry of ravens

Casts fear among us.

Tomorrow, they croaked

Tomorrow.

*

Time shifts,

It bends and forgets.

It twines about my heart,

An embrace that reminds me

I am alone.

A choice I made

To crown kings in glory,

To weave truth in myth

And taste magic again.

The centuries they stand, between us

And tomorrow.

*

Whisper of tomorrow

His lover’s kiss.

Always anon,

Never today.

Tomorrow.

I hope for it still.

It glimmers before me,

Alive and so bright.

Tomorrow is ours

If we but claim it.

With paltry magic, I call him.

I cry to the heavens.

Tomorrow.

*

Tomorrow.

It taunts me,

A kiss never taken.

Would she be there,

Waiting for me?

Damn the years that guard our tomorrows.

I feel her calling.

My love.

Mairead.

By Dean

By Dean

For the “Tomorrow” prompt.

This is the tentative start of a ballad I ‘discovered’ in the writing of my series, called The Ballad of Dubhshith and Mairead. I’m in the process of writing a compendium of pieces that will act as a ‘record’ of this Seventh Century ballad/love story. Warrior’s Lament, also on the Community Storyboard, is part of the compendium as well.

About KM Sullivan

Descended of pirates and revolutionaries, KM Sullivan is a lover and student of all things Irish. Born in the States, she is a dual US/Irish citizen, and studied history and politics at University College, Dublin – although, at the time, she seriously considered switching to law, if only so she could attend lectures at the castle on campus. She lives in the American Midwest with her son, two cats and a pesky character in her head named D (but you can call him Dubh). Her first book, Changelings: Into the Mist, a young adult historical fantasy is available now on Amazon and Barns and Noble. She can be found writing with said character at her blog, The D/A Dialogues.

8 comments on “Anon, my love (Tomorrow Prompt)

  1. […] at the Community Storyboard today with a (late-ish) submission for the Tomorrow prompt! […]

  2. Beautifully written, I love the ballad idea 🙂

  3. Loved the story told through this poem. Even without specifics, you give a great insight into what occurred.

  4. Well done, Katie! I love how you tell a story through the poem. And it makes me want to read more 🙂

Penny for your thoughts (we won't resell them)

Horror4Me

Journalism so good... it's scary.

transcribingmemory

Decades of her words.

J and I Publishing

Creative Color Book Publications

Tony Flye

Author

Everything Indie

Supporting Indie Authors with Tips, Reviews, and Services

frankalrich

Community manager for ReviewCreep.com - Exposure Platform for Wordpress Review Bloggers

Barbarian Writer

A Story For The Æons

Five.

Five true stories, every five weeks.

You Knew What I Meant

Errors and Intentions

Koreanish

Alexander Chee

harm·less drudg·ery

defining the words that define us

Bending Genre

Essays on Creative Nonfiction

Antariksh Yatra

Journeys in Space, Time and the Imagination

The Task at Hand

A Writer's On-Going Search for Just the Right Words

Mashed Radish

everyday etymology

rottenindenmark.wordpress.com/

Is this gentleman bothering you?

Cuaderno Inédito

Notes & advice for writers & editors by Julie Schwietert Collazo.

