19 Comments

Solitary

*OOPS. I meant to post this here but accidentally posted it to Ionia’s Thought Catalogue instead because I wasn’t paying attention. So If you already saw it, my bad. Sorry:)

018

Solitary here without you
struggling through the night
thinking of us in moments
forever captured black and white

moments into hours
hours into days
days into weeks
a solitude so magnificent
that even quiet seeks

the sun upon your face
and the warmth upon my skin
lingering memories of embrace
and desire my greatest sin

rain beating a lonely rhythm
wind howling, reflecting pain
your voice inside my head
chasing away the sane

moments into hours
a heartbeat and its shadow
hours into days
always searching for tomorrow
days into weeks
and my soul begins to tremble
if weeks are months and months are years
my being will disassemble

About Ionia Froment

book blogger and reviewer, mother of four boys, classical pianist and amateur photographer. I love reading, writing, music and learning to cook new and unusual dishes. You can usually find me with my nose buried in a book unless I have the opportunity to be walking on the beach collecting seashells:)

19 comments on “Solitary

  1. So beautiful, a finely structured and deeply realised poem!! Bravo!! 🙂

  2. This is beautiful, my darling. It is so very true. Oh how the time crawls. 20, 3, 2. It will pass, eventually, I know, but it does seem like forever, and so alone without you. We will reassemble ourselves when we are together, into a single whole, from the many parts.

  3. Reblogged this on Julian Froment's Blog and commented:

    An incredible poem by Ionia. After the disassembly of solitude ends, the reassembly of union will begin

  4. Beautiful. Haunting. You make the pain of separation so exquisite. I love these lines most: “your voice inside my head / chasing away the sane”

  5. I feel a sadness in these words and desire to wipe it all away.

  6. I wish I had the magic words to make the sadness go away, but I do not. I can say that your readers are keeping the two of you in our thought and hearts. This is truly a lovely poem.

  7. Such yearning and patient waiting is painful. Outstanding.

Penny for your thoughts (we won't resell them)

Horror4Me

Journalism so good... it's scary.

transcribingmemory

Decades of her words.

J and I Publishing

Creative Color Book Publications

Tony Flye

Author

Everything Indie

Supporting Indie Authors with Tips, Reviews, and Services

frankalrich

Community manager for ReviewCreep.com - Exposure Platform for Wordpress Review Bloggers

Barbarian Writer

A Story For The Æons

Five.

Five true stories, every five weeks.

You Knew What I Meant

Errors and Intentions

Koreanish

Alexander Chee

Bending Genre

Essays on Creative Nonfiction

harm·less drudg·ery

defining the words that define us

Antariksh Yatra

Journeys in Space, Time and the Imagination

The Task at Hand

A Writer's On-Going Search for Just the Right Words

Mashed Radish

everyday etymology

rottenindenmark.wordpress.com/

Is this gentleman bothering you?

