13 Comments

The Significance of Rain

The Significance of Rain
I like the way the world smells
after it’s rained
and the redwoods have dropped
their tears
upon their source
the earth.
Even the ducks honk
and celebrate
and splash merrily
and the hummingbirds
zig and zag
and the doves
coo.
Let’s settle back into bed
and pull the covers up over our heads
and pretend we’re in a love cocoon
at least until noon.
I like the way the world smells
after it’s rained.

Ellespeth

About Ellespeth

I'm a poet. Sometimes I write stories and other nonsense. Ellespeth

13 comments on “The Significance of Rain

  1. I find this wistful and charming. Made me smile. A perfect afternoon.

  2. Was there a rain prompt I missed? I just read another poem about rain — it was wonderful. So’s yours. I especially like the almost accidental couplet of love cocoon and at least until noon.

  3. Love this poem, Ellespeth! Makes me want to snuggle under with someone special:>) xo

  4. I’ve so missed your beautiful words 🙂

  5. It’s raining right now, and I’d give anything to stay in bed and listen to the soft drum of it. Of course, we’ve had a fair amount of rain here. Your poem captures very well the sensation of rain after a long drought. Second to staying in bed and cuddling, would be to go dancing in it and celebrate 🙂

Penny for your thoughts (we won't resell them)

Horror4Me

Journalism so good... it's scary.

transcribingmemory

Decades of her words.

J and I Publishing

Creative Color Book Publications

Tony Flye

Author

Everything Indie

Supporting Indie Authors with Tips, Reviews, and Services

frankalrich

Community manager for ReviewCreep.com - Exposure Platform for Wordpress Review Bloggers

Barbarian Writer

A Story For The Æons

Five.

Five true stories, every five weeks.

You Knew What I Meant

Errors and Intentions

Koreanish

Alexander Chee

Bending Genre

Essays on Creative Nonfiction

harm·less drudg·ery

defining the words that define us

Antariksh Yatra

Journeys in Space, Time and the Imagination

The Task at Hand

A Writer's On-Going Search for Just the Right Words

Mashed Radish

everyday etymology

rottenindenmark.wordpress.com/

Is this gentleman bothering you?

