15 Comments

Metal memories

Traces of where your hands have been
the trails left by your fingers
are now only ghosts and shadows
and yet the touch still lingers

American coins left scattered about
it’s these things I use to erase doubt
A jumper you left that smells like you
although scent fades it tells me it’s true

You were really here with me
not just a wisp of smoke
not a lonely heart imagining
or a cosmic joke

A dime over there
left from ice cream at a shop
A nickel remains
from a desperate coffee stop

I fight the ethereal
with the solid and the real
insignificant to some perhaps
all I’ve got to hold and feel

A king’s ransom in coins
metal memories
but now we know the difference
between quarters, dimes and pennies

currency can mean money
but also prevalence
the focus of my life,
you
beyond all common sense

If only there were a way
to easily solve this equation
to reduce this distance
to end this
s e p a r a t i o n

About Ionia Froment

book blogger and reviewer, mother of four boys, classical pianist and amateur photographer. I love reading, writing, music and learning to cook new and unusual dishes. You can usually find me with my nose buried in a book unless I have the opportunity to be walking on the beach collecting seashells:)

15 comments on “Metal memories

  1. This is absolutely beautiful. I do the same thing and use the solid and real to fight the ethereal. I also use the sense of smell by wearing your perfume, of which I have a fine selection – I can admit it. When two love as we do you find ways to try to cope with the separation, even if only poorly, until those joyous times when we are together. If only we could solve the equation I would be the happiest man alive. I love you.

  2. Awww! This was so sweet. Hope I don’t mess up the moment, but I have to tell you how my boyfriend taught me to have sex. He threw some change on the bed and said, “Hit the nickle, hit the dime, hit the quarter, hit the penny,” Then he repeated until satisfied.

  3. This is just beautiful Ionia, if feel so horrible for you and Julian. I hope that someday your separation becomes nothing but a faint memory.

  4. They should teach life algebra. 🙂

  5. Reblogged this on Julian Froment's Blog and commented:

    A beautiful poem by the love of my life, Ionia.

  6. Beautiful and haunting at the same time.

Penny for your thoughts (we won't resell them)

Horror4Me

Journalism so good... it's scary.

transcribingmemory

Decades of her words.

J and I Publishing

Creative Color Book Publications

Tony Flye

Author

Everything Indie

Supporting Indie Authors with Tips, Reviews, and Services

frankalrich

Community manager for ReviewCreep.com - Exposure Platform for Wordpress Review Bloggers

Barbarian Writer

A Story For The Æons

Five.

Five true stories, every five weeks.

You Knew What I Meant

Errors and Intentions

Koreanish

Alexander Chee

Bending Genre

Essays on Creative Nonfiction

harm·less drudg·ery

defining the words that define us

Antariksh Yatra

Journeys in Space, Time and the Imagination

The Task at Hand

A Writer's On-Going Search for Just the Right Words

Mashed Radish

everyday etymology

rottenindenmark.wordpress.com/

Is this gentleman bothering you?

