9 Comments

My Night at the Lumber Mill (Part 2 of 2)

He whispered, “I hear something out there. Stay here. I’ll be back shortly.” He grabbed his flashlight and was gone.

I felt excited, then scared. “What if something bad happens to Grandpa? He might need my help.” I didn’t want to admit even to myself that I was afraid of being in that guard shack alone, in a big saw mill, in the middle of the night, in the middle of nowhere. I wanted to be with him. I quietly slipped out the door. I didn’t have a flashlight and couldn’t see a thing. I was even more afraid.

I considered going back in the guard house. Conflicting thoughts and feelings battled in my brain. “What if Grandpa needs me? What can I do? I’m just a kid! He told me to stay in the shack. It’s scarier out here than in there. But, I’m closer to Grandpa out here.” I like to think the question “What if Grandpa needs me?’’ was the only reason I didn’t go back. However, I’m sure the “I’m closer to Grandpa out here” was the more appealing part of my thinking.

“Which way did he go?”

I heard what sounded like loud voices and stumbled in the darkness toward the sounds.

As I got closer, flickering moonlight from a partial break in the clouds created an eerie scene of three angry young men standing in front of Grandpa. I hid behind the corner of a building about twenty feet away. I noticed how old grandpa looked. The lenses in his glasses were as thick as the bottoms of soda bottles. He was never very tall and was now stooped with age. He wheezed from bad lungs as the result of smoking and working in a bakery and saw mill all his life.

I heard Grandpa say, “Boys, you are trespassing and need to leave.”

The biggest one, who stood at least six inches taller than Grandpa, was probably forty pounds heavier, and fifty years younger, looked at his buddies and laughed, sneering, “Go away old man. Our party is just getting started.” He lifted a can of beer and chugged it.

Grandpa sighed, and said bit louder, “Go. NOW!”

The man in the middle took two steps forward and stared in Grandpa’s face, then spit on the ground near Grandpa’s boots. “Who’s going to make me, OLD man?” He pushed Grandpa. Just then, clouds completely covered the moon, and I couldn’t see a thing.

In the darkness, a big bang like a sledge hammer hitting a piece of wooden post hung in the air. When moonlight filtered through like a strobe-light, I only saw three men standing. I panicked until I noticed Grandpa was one of them. In the flickering light, I saw the loud-mouthed thug on the ground writhing in pain and holding a nose spurting blood. His buddies crouched and were ready to pounce. Grandpa rested his palm on the pistol in his holster and calmly said, “I’ve asked you twice to leave. I won’t ask again.”

Whether it was Grandpa’s comment, quick reflexes, or gun—perhaps all three—but, it took the starch out of them. They picked up their writhing ringleader, got in their hot rod, and left in a flickering cloud of dust.

Grandpa saw and walked over to me. I thought I was going to get a lecture about being told to stay in the guard shack. Instead, grandpa just had a wily grin on his face as he said, “They didn’t know I used to be a boxer. C’mon, let’s finish our rounds.”

About russtowne

My wife and I have been married since 1979. We have 3 adult children and 4 young grandsons. I manage a wealth management firm I founded in 2003. My Beloved is a Special Education teacher for Kindergartners and First Graders. I'm a published author of 23 books in a variety of genres for grownups and children. In addition to my family, friends, investing, and writing, my passions include reading, watching classic movies, experiencing waves crashing on rocky shores, hiking in ancient redwood forests, and enjoying our small redwood grove and fern garden.

9 comments on “My Night at the Lumber Mill (Part 2 of 2)

  1. whew! I was grinning at the end! Loved it

    • I’m happy it resonated for you! Like many of my longer “fiction” stories, much of the story actually happened. In this case, I combined two true stories and added a third potential adversary and the flickering moonlit clouds for effect. I really did spend a night at the lumber mill with my grandpa that age, and as a very old man with the infirmaries I described he really did have to stand up to, punch, and deck a twenty-something loud-mouth who was trespassing and harassing him to impress the thug’s girlfriend. My visit and the punch happened on separate nights.
      Russ

      • It read as if you were recalling an actual incident. Now I understand. I also think that not everyone can tell a story, real or fictional, that leaves the reader breathless. You can. Thank you.

    • Your comment about being able to leave a reader breathless is one of the best compliments I’ve received as a writer. You made my day. Thank you, quiall!
      Russ

  2. I like Grandpa. He’s still full of surprises and I get the feeling he surprised himself as well. Never a good position to be in: three against one. 😀 I had to smile at the end as well.

  3. The second part was worth waiting for. Your imagery was great and I could really picture him flooring the thug and grinning after, way to go 😉

  4. (Big smile!) Thank you, Helen. Such feedback inspires me to continue writing and sharing. I’m taking a break to focus on other things for a bit, but will be back soon. Comments such as yours are one of the major reason I plan to return.
    Russ

Penny for your thoughts (we won't resell them)

Horror4Me

Journalism so good... it's scary.

transcribingmemory

Decades of her words.

J and I Publishing

Creative Color Book Publications

Tony Flye

Author

Everything Indie

Supporting Indie Authors with Tips, Reviews, and Services

frankalrich

Community manager for ReviewCreep.com - Exposure Platform for Wordpress Review Bloggers

Barbarian Writer

A Story For The Æons

Five.

Five true stories, every five weeks.

You Knew What I Meant

Errors and Intentions

Koreanish

Alexander Chee

harm·less drudg·ery

defining the words that define us

Bending Genre

Essays on Creative Nonfiction

Antariksh Yatra

Journeys in Space, Time and the Imagination

The Task at Hand

A Writer's On-Going Search for Just the Right Words

Mashed Radish

everyday etymology

rottenindenmark.wordpress.com/

Is this gentleman bothering you?

Cuaderno Inédito

Notes & advice for writers & editors by Julie Schwietert Collazo.

