12 Comments

This Old Home Prompt On the Community Story Board

This Old House – Community Storyboard Prompt by John W. Howell.

“So what do you think?”

“I don’t know what to tell you.”

“Well you’ve been looking around and measuring for hours. I need to know from an engineering standpoint what you think.”

“I didn’t want to be blunt, but I think you need to tear it down.”

“Tear it down? You’ve got to be kidding me.”

“I’m an engineer, I never kid.”

“Okay then can you tell me why?”

“First off, the foundation is shot. Secondly the joists are rotten. Thirdly the trusses have been compromised by termites. Any one of these problems would result in a tear down.”

“But this house was all my father left me. It has been in our family for generations and I promised him I would take care of it for the rest of my life.”

“I understand, but my report will need to go to the city and I’m afraid once received they will force you to tear it down.”

“Isn’t here anything I can do?”

“Sure. You can appeal the decision. In fact, you might be able to use the historical argument.”

“Historical argument?”

“Yeah you know. The house is over one hundred years old and is an historical site and should be preserved.”

“Do you think it will work?”

“Hard to say. I know it’s going to cost you a bundle for plans, permits and reconstruction.”

“You mean it can’t just stand the way it is and be declared historical?”

“God no. If you win your argument you’ll have to present a plan to restore the old place.”

“My problem is I don’t have the money.”

“Yeah well that’s a problem alright.”

“I really don’t see a way out of this.”

“Yeah since you told your dad you would take care of the house for the rest of your life you either got to let it go or die early.”

“Somehow I don’t think that’s too funny.”

“You are right, I apologize.”

“In fact, if you died before that report is delivered, I would be in the clear.”

“You’re pretty funny yourself. In the clear for a while anyway. There will be other inspectors, you know.”

“I suppose you’re right, but I think I will take the chance. You want to turn around and walk back in the house for me?”

“Where did you get that gun? Are you crazy? You’ll never get away with this. They’ll come for you.”

“I guess I’m a little crazy, yes. Also, I will take the chance after I get rid of you. Now move.”

 

 

About John W. Howell

I have been working in business for over forty years and now have the time to work in special areas of interest. My passion has always been to create compelling stories of fiction. I have authored two novels and am working on my third. The first novel is still in manuscript form and being utilized as a door stop in the laundry room. The second is a contemporary fiction novel of 89,000 words and is complete and I am currently seeking a publisher. I also write poetry but have not had the guts to share any with anyone. The one time I read a piece to a person their only comment was, “it doesn’t rhyme.” I will continue to write and hopefully my blog, Fiction Favorites at www.johnwhowell.com will provide some entertainment and an interesting thought or two. I live by the Gulf of Mexico with my wife Molly and an assortment of loving pets.

12 comments on “This Old Home Prompt On the Community Story Board

  1. And that’s how haunted houses are born.

  2. Excellent, John! “I guess I’m a little crazy, yes….” Hahaha! Well written scene.
    Ellespeth

  3. I cracked up here, “…got to let it go or die early.”
    Great story. Snappy dialogue. Will the inspector die or not? 😀 😀 😀

  4. Smooth dialogue, fab scene setting. Only issue I have is I want to read more 🙂

Penny for your thoughts (we won't resell them)

Horror4Me

Journalism so good... it's scary.

transcribingmemory

Decades of her words.

J and I Publishing

Creative Color Book Publications

Tony Flye

Author

Everything Indie

Supporting Indie Authors with Tips, Reviews, and Services

frankalrich

Community manager for ReviewCreep.com - Exposure Platform for Wordpress Review Bloggers

Barbarian Writer

A Story For The Æons

Five.

Five true stories, every five weeks.

You Knew What I Meant

Errors and Intentions

Koreanish

Alexander Chee

harm·less drudg·ery

defining the words that define us

Bending Genre

Essays on Creative Nonfiction

Antariksh Yatra

Journeys in Space, Time and the Imagination

The Task at Hand

A Writer's On-Going Search for Just the Right Words

Mashed Radish

everyday etymology

rottenindenmark.wordpress.com/

Is this gentleman bothering you?

Cuaderno Inédito

Notes & advice for writers & editors by Julie Schwietert Collazo.

