3 Comments

The Power of the Atom

I am articulate.

Words flow with ease, especially when I am upset.

Although I have surprised people since I was barely two years old with my mastery of language, it is a gift, pure and simple. No effort on my part at all; words just flow. Probably because I am tiny, words are my defense against anyone who threatens me. According to friends, my words do disarm antagonists.

Yes, powerful words protect us.  I know from experience that words can  diffuse evil and derail violence.  I have even talked my way out of a rape.  I talked circles around the man, even though he held a knife to my throat. Drove him crazy till he literally pushed me out of his truck with my eyes bound with tape because as the tape was about to cover my mouth, I went ballistic.  You see, my mouth is my weapon.dark-room-light-through-window

I also know from experience that words have the power to bring freedom and healing and shine light and reveal the truth. Mere words of comfort have literally changed  the course of my life.

Yet there is a cost to consider.  A fellow blogger commented on one of my posts,

“Words have the power of the Atom harnessed within them. With that power comes great responsibility. Sometimes it will cost you everything to stand for something bigger than yourself, to say what should said. Sometimes your words will leave you with nail scarred hands…”

My heart started pounding as I read these words because this fellow’s insights rang true and resonated within me.

Words can also stir and rile up those who prefer to live in the shadows and those who do not want to be exposed.

Words are powerful.

Be careful. Be wise. Discern and then be brave as you wield your gift of words.

 

About melanie jean juneau

Melanie Jean Juneau serves as the Editor in Chief of Catholic Stand. She is a mother of nine children who has edited her kid's university term papers for over a decade. She blogs at joy of nine9 and mother of nine9. Her writing is humorous and heart warming; thoughtful and thought-provoking. Part of her call and her witness is to write the truth about children, family, marriage and the sacredness of life. Melanie is the administrator of ACWB, a columnist at CatholicLane, CatholicStand, Catholic365 , CAPC, author of Echoes of the Divine and Oopsy Daisy, and coauthor of Love Rebel: Reclaiming Motherhood.

3 comments on “The Power of the Atom

  1. This is a stimulating post, the kind to make one stop to think because we don’t always. Words hurt and words heal. Be careful out there. 🙂 Thank you.

Penny for your thoughts (we won't resell them)

Horror4Me

Journalism so good... it's scary.

transcribingmemory

Decades of her words.

J and I Publishing

Creative Color Book Publications

Tony Flye

Author

Everything Indie

Supporting Indie Authors with Tips, Reviews, and Services

frankalrich

Community manager for ReviewCreep.com - Exposure Platform for Wordpress Review Bloggers

Barbarian Writer

A Story For The Æons

Five.

Five true stories, every five weeks.

You Knew What I Meant

Errors and Intentions

Koreanish

Alexander Chee

Bending Genre

Essays on Creative Nonfiction

harm·less drudg·ery

defining the words that define us

Antariksh Yatra

Journeys in Space, Time and the Imagination

The Task at Hand

A Writer's On-Going Search for Just the Right Words

Mashed Radish

everyday etymology

rottenindenmark.wordpress.com/

Is this gentleman bothering you?

